PH suspends testing, quarantine protocols for ‘green’ countries | Global News

PH suspends testing, quarantine protocols for ‘green’ countries

By: - Reporter / @zacariansINQ
/ 06:10 PM November 28, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Malacañang announced on Sunday that the country will temporarily suspend testing and quarantine protocols for countries or territories classified as “green” effective Nov. 28.

This announcement came after the Palace announced the country’s updated “red list,” or areas considered to be high-risk for COVID-19.

“The IATF (Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases) likewise approved the temporary suspension of testing and quarantine protocols for countries/jurisdictions/territories classified as ‘Green’ effective immediately until December 15, 2021,” acting presidential spokesperson Karlo Nograles said in a statement.


Countries, territories, or foreign jurisdictions tagged “green” are considered low-risk for COVID-19.


On the other hand, passengers from ‘green’ countries who arrived prior to Nov. 28 may still follow quarantine protocols assigned to their country of origin upon the date of their arrival.

Meanwhile, the IATF also suspended Resolution No. 150-A, which allowed fully-vaxxed foreigners from green countries to enter the Philippines.

Currently, only 41 countries, territories, or foreign jurisdictions are included in the Philippines’ green list. These areas are:

  • American Samoa
  • Bhutan
  • Chad
  • China (Mainland)
  • Comoros
  • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China)
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Niger
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Paraguay
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Sudan
  • Taiwan
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zambia

South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe were earlier classified as “green” countries but were immediately included to the “red list” due to the B.1.1.1529 or the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

READ: New variant prompts PH to bar some flights

Consequently, testing and quarantine protocols for all travelers coming from “yellow” list countries remain.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

For more news about the novel coronavirus click here.
What you need to know about Coronavirus.
For more information on COVID-19, call the DOH Hotline: (02) 86517800 local 1149/1150.

The Inquirer Foundation supports our healthcare frontliners and is still accepting cash donations to be deposited at Banco de Oro (BDO) current account #007960018860 or donate through PayMaya using this link.

TAGS: COVID-19, green list, Health, IATF, Malacañang, Palace, Travel, travel restrictions

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.