'Red list' updated: PH imposes travel curb on four more countries | Global News

‘Red list’ updated: PH imposes travel curb on four more countries

By: - Reporter / @KAguilarINQ
/ 09:53 AM September 17, 2021
'Red list' updated: PH imposes travel curb on four more countries

FILE PHOTO: Few travelers are seen at Terminal 2 of Ninoy Aquino International Airport due to the COVID-19 pandemic. INQUIRER/RICHARD A. REYES

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippines has imposed a travel restriction on four more countries as it updated its “red list” effective September 19, Malacañang announced Friday.

In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said those added in the red list or areas considered as high-risk for COVID-19 are Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Serbia, and Slovenia. Travel curb on these four countries will be until September 30.


According to previous guidelines issued by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF), inbound travelers coming from countries under the red list are prohibited from entering the country regardless of their vaccination status.

Meanwhile, below are the 52 countries and territories where fully vaccinated travelers qualify for seven-day facility-based quarantine instead of 10 days:


  • American Samoa
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Gabon
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Madagascar
  • Mali
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Niger
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • Poland
  • Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands)
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Taiwan
  • Algeria
  • Bhutan
  • Cook Islands
  • Eritrea
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Nauru
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • North Korea
  • Saint Helena
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tajikstan
  • Tanzania
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen

Roque said that “all other countries/territories/jurisdictions not mentioned are in the Yellow List.”

Inbound travelers from those in the yellow list or areas that are moderate-risk for COVID-19 must undergo a 14-day quarantine composed of a 10-day facility-based quarantine and four-day home quarantine.

They will undergo RT-PCR on the seventh day of isolation and must complete the 10-day facility-based quarantine even if they get a negative test result.


Subscribe to our global nation newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

For more news about the novel coronavirus click here.
What you need to know about Coronavirus.
For more information on COVID-19, call the DOH Hotline: (02) 86517800 local 1149/1150.

The Inquirer Foundation supports our healthcare frontliners and is still accepting cash donations to be deposited at Banco de Oro (BDO) current account #007960018860 or donate through PayMaya using this link .

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: COVID-19, green list, IATF, Malacañang, Palace, pandemic, red list, Travel, travel restriction, yellow list
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our global news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2021 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.