Fernando Zobel de Ayala leads Rotary tourism awardees

/ 03:16 AM March 07, 2012

Businessmen Fernando Zobel de Ayala, Andrew Tan and Henry Chusuey lead the 10 recipients of this year’s Tourism Awards handed out by the Rotary Club of Manila.

Club president Urbano Caasi said the awards rites will be held March 15 during the weekly luncheon meeting at the Manila Polo Club in Makati City.


Tourism Awards committee chairman Robert Lim Joseph said the award, now on its eighth year, was  conceived “to recognize tourism personalities in the industry and to support and promote the country as a tourist destination with the various Rotary Clubs throughout the world, with emphasis on the Asean region.”

Joseph said Ayala was cited for tourism investment, Tan won in the hotel category and Chusuey in the resort category.


The other awardees were Jerry Alcuzar for tourism destination, Miguel Belmonte of the Philippine Star for print media, Tourism Undersecretary Danny Corpuz in the national government category, Alaminos City Mayor Hernani Braganza in the local government category, Vincent Golangco for online media, Ruth von Siebenthal Hung for tourism education and Bessie Badilla for online travel and tour category.

The Tourism Awards are cosponsored by Philippine Airlines, Tourism Educators and Movers (Team) of the Philippines, SKAL Club of Makati, Travel Cooperative of the Philippines and Ralph’s Wines and Spirits.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Fernando Zobel de Ayala, Rotary Club of Manila, Tourism Awards
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.