PH extends travel ban on India, 6 other countries until June 30 | Global News

PH extends travel ban on India, 6 other countries until June 30

By: - Reporter / @DYGalvezINQ
/ 03:23 AM June 15, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippines has extended travel restrictions on inbound travelers coming from India and six other countries until June 30, 2021, Malacañang announced Monday.

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved the extension of travel bans imposed on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Oman.

The travel restrictions were supposed to lapse on Tuesday, June 15.


Philippines extends travel curb on India, 6 other countries until June 15


The government earlier imposed these restrictions to prevent the entry of the COVID-19 double-mutant variant first detected in India.

As of May 26, health authorities have so far detected 13 cases of the said variant or B.1.617 in the country.

DOH detects 246 more cases of COVID-19 variants in PH

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Duterte, India, Roque, Travel Ban

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.