Philippines extends travel curb on India, 6 other countries until June 15 | Global News

Philippines extends travel curb on India, 6 other countries until June 15

By: - Reporter / @KAguilarINQ
/ 09:18 AM June 01, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — The Philippines has extended travel restrictions on inbound travelers coming from India and six other countries until June 15, 2021, Malacañang said Monday.


In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved extending the travel bans imposed on India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates.

The government earlier imposed these restrictions to prevent the entry of the COVID-19 variant first detected in India.


As of May 26, health authorities have so far detected 13 cases of the so-called double mutant variant or B.1.617 in the country.


DOH detects 246 more cases of COVID-19 variants in PH


For more news about the novel coronavirus click here.
What you need to know about Coronavirus.
For more information on COVID-19, call the DOH Hotline: (02) 86517800 local 1149/1150.

The Inquirer Foundation supports our healthcare frontliners and is still accepting cash donations to be deposited at Banco de Oro (BDO) current account #007960018860 or donate through PayMaya using this link .

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: coronavirus Philippines, COVID-19, Malacañang, Palace, Travel Ban, travel restrictions
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.