Entries now being accepted for the 3rd Annual Plaridel Awards | Global News

Entries now being accepted for the 3rd Annual Plaridel Awards

/ 10:20 AM June 30, 2014

SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA — Submissions to the 3rd Annual Plaridel Awards for excellence in Filipino American journalism are now being accepted by The Philippine American Press Club, USA (PAPC).

The Plaridel Awards was established in 2012 to acknowledge the contribution of outstanding writers and publishers in the Filipino American community. The awards celebrate the best works of Fil-Am mass communicators, who chronicle the lives and times of their compatriots, promote and share their culture and history, champion their causes and provide a venue where readers and listeners can voice their concerns.


The Plaridel Awards was named in honor of Marcelo H. Del Pilar, a Filipino patriot, journalist and publisher who brought his craft and zeal as an expat in Europe in late 1800s. Plaridel was his pen name. Del Pilar was a prolific writer who kept his constituents abreast with the goings on in their expat community as well as in the homeland.


In del Pilar, the PAPC has found a hero to emulate, an inspiration to Filipino writers and publishers everywhere who pursue their journalistic aspirations and service to their constituents in their new home.

The Plaridel is open to all Fil-Am journalists whose articles or programs saw publication in a Filipino American-based media anywhere in the U.S. between June 1, 2013 through May 31, 2014. Deadline for submission is August 30, 2014.


Awards will be given to the best stories and articles that provide unique perspective on the issues and concerns of Filipino Americans. Categories for print and online articles include Investigative Story, News Story; Personal Essay, Feature Writing, Profile Writing, Commentary or Editorial Essay; International Reporting; Entertainment, Food, and Sports Stories; and Youth Voice (age 16 – 26.

For Broadcast TV the categories are Community Reporting and Personality Profile. For Radio, it is Community Programming. Photojournalism and Tourism also categories for entries.

This year’s awards will be held on Thursday, Oct. 2 at Fort McKinley Restaurant in South San Francisco.


Last year’s Plaridel Awards Winners were:

For Best Commentary: Randy Gener /The Filam. Honorable Mention: Dy Calica-LaPutt/Asian Journal.

Best Investigative-In-Depth Reporting: Joseph Lariosa/Philippines Today, and Harvey Barkin/Inquirer.net. Honorable Mention: Emil Guillermo/Philippine News,

Best International Reporting: Rodel Rodis/Inquirer.net; Honorable Mention, Arnold Pedrigal/Manila Mail.

Best Entertainment: Lotis Key/Positively Filipino; Honorable Mention, Carlos Zialcita/ Positively Filipino

Best Sports Feature: Emil Guillermo/Inquirer.net; Honorable Mention, Ted Laguatan/Inquirer.net

Best Food Story: Elizabeth Ann Quirino/Positively Filipino; Honorable Mention, Dennis Clemente/Inquirer.net.

Best Youth Voice: Lawrence Ochoa, The FilAm LA; Honorable Mention: Alex Drechsler /Inquirer.net.

Best Tourism Feature: Francis Calpotura/Positively Filipino.

Best TV Community Reporting: TFC/Balitang America-ABS-CBN International, Honorable Mention, Adobo Nation-ABS-CBN International.

Best Radio Broadcast: Robert Henry, “EastWest Radio Show.”

Best Photo Journalism: Sidney Snoeck/ Power ng Pinoy.

PAPC also presented the Torchbearer award to Jose Antonio Vargas, who was honored for his activism on behalf of undocumented immigrants like himself, and outgoing San Francisco Consul General Marciano A. Paynor, Jr. who was hailed as a Torchbearer for instituting many improvements in consular services to the Filipino community. Keynote speaker was Oscar Peñaranda, artist, poet, published author, educator and historian.

PAPC’s member publications are Philippine News, ABS-CBN, Asian Journal, Philippines Today, Fil-Am Star, Filipino American Radio Network, Filipino Gazette, GMA Pinoy TV, Manila Mail, Inquirer.net, Philippine Headlines, Positively Filipino, Power ng Pinoy, The Island Talk Show and San Francisco Post.

For more information, please contact Esther Chavez, President, PAPC at [email protected] or Jojo Peralta, Executive Secretary at [email protected]


Maj. Gen. Taguba, others, tackle ethics in political office at press club panel

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Community journalists win Phil-Am Press Club awards

INQUIRER.net to receive award from Philippine American Press Club

TAGS: Filipino American journalists, Philippine American Press Club, Plaridel Awards

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.