Home » News » Breakingnews

Silliman beats UP in moot court competition

First Posted 14:40:00 11/20/2010

DUMAGUETE CITY, Philippines?The Silliman University College of Law beat the University of the Philippines Diliman in the final round Friday to clinch the championship in the International Humanitarian Law Moot Court competition held November 17-19 at the San Sebastian College in Manila.

Winning the best team, best mooter and best oralist awards, the Silliman duo of Michah Dagaerag and Bryce Tenorio stood head and shoulders above 13 other teams from top law schools in the country to win the right to represent the Philippines in the International Moot Court Competition in Hong Kong in March 2011.

Dean Mikhail Lee Maxino of the SU College of Law told the Inquirer in a telephone interview that the contestants simulated the proceedings of an international court to promote awareness of the international humanitarian law.

The moot court competition is an annual event organized by the International Committee of Red Cross (ICRC), the Philippine Red Cross, the Philippine Association of Law Schools and the Supreme Court of the Philippines.

?They were all good but we came out to be the best,? Maxino said.

The contestants came from nine provincial law schools (Ateneo de Davao University, St. Louis University, Silliman University, Southwestern University, University of Batangas, University of Cebu, University of St. La Salle, University of San Carlos and Xavier University?Ateneo de Cagayan) and from five in Metro Manila (Ateneo de Manila University, Far Eastern University, Lyceum of the Philippines University, San Beda College of Law and University of the Philippines Diliman).

The judges for the 2010 moot court competition were Supreme Court Associate Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, law professor Harry Roque, ICRC regional legal adviser Richard Desgagne, former Representative Mario Agua and lawyer Lorna Kapunan.

The coach of the SU team was lawyer Sheila Lyn Catacutan-Besario, a faculty member of the College of Law. Members of last year?s Moot Court team Terence Callao, who was best mooter in the elimination round, and Karla Aguilan and Joshua Ablong were there to coach the team along with manager Karissa Tolentino in Manila.

Dean Maxino also acknowledged the researches made by Nick Ramacho, Kenny Hotingoy and Zara Dy in support of the SU team.

blog comments powered by Disqus

  • Print this article
  • Send as an e-mail
  • Most Read RSS
  • Share
© Copyright 2015 INQUIRER.net. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.