Gov’t to focus on development of islands in West PH Sea | Global News

Gov’t to focus on development of islands in West PH Sea

/ 04:16 PM January 15, 2024

map of the west philippine sea

The West Philippine Sea is part of the archipelagic sea lanes that the bill proposes to establish.

MANILA, Philippines — The government will focus on developing all of the islands and features in the West Philippine Sea, according to Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff Gen. Romeo Brawner Jr.

“We will also focus on developing the islands and the other features that we are occupying,” Brawner said in a press conference in Camp Aguinaldo in Quezon City.


The Philippines occupies nine other maritime features — collectively known as Kalayaan Island Group — in the West Philippine Sea.


These areas are: Ayungin (Second Thomas) Shoal, Pagasa (Thitu) Island, Lawak (Nanshan) Island, Parola (Northeast Cay) Island, Patag (Flat) Island, Kota (Loaita) Island, Rizal (Commodore) Reef, Likas (West York) Island, and Panata (Lankiam Cay) Island.

Brawner noted that military personnel are stationed in these maritime features, hence the need for further improvement.

“We are actually trying to do is that, we are making these features more habitable for our troops,” Brawner said.

Brawner added that the AFP is planning to send out vital equipment such as desalination machines and other means of communication.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), islands, West Philippine Sea

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.