APO Land and Quarry Corporation wins a Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Award

APO Land & Quarry Corporation (ALQC), CEMEX Philippines’ principal supplier in Cebu for limestone, clay and greywacke, won the 2022 Titanium Achievement Award in the recently concluded Presidential Mineral Industry Environmental Award held at the CAP-John Hay Trade and Cultural Center in Baguio City.

ALQC was represented by Fulgencio Ubay Jr. (Community Relations Officer), Gery Rota (APO Cement Plant Director), William Melano, Jr. (Quarry Operations Superintendent), Nino Advincula (Tenement Manager), Vitaliano Sevilla. Jr. (Quarry Operations Superintendent) and Atty. Christer Gaudiano (ERM, Corp. Communications & Public Affairs Director) from CEMEX Philippines.

ALQC won the award in recognition of its satisfactory environmental, safety and health management and community development in the conduct of its quarry operation. 

For the fiscal year 2021-2022, ALQC highlighted its safety performance, clocking in nearly 323,000 manhours without any accident. Furthermore, ALQC’s approved Social Development Management Programs (SDMP) were 100% implemented through the several community engagement activities and projects focusing on health and safety, education, livelihood and environmental preservation.

APO Cement Plant Director Gerry Rota and ALQC Representative Atty. Christer Gaudiano accepted the Titanium Achievement Award on behalf of ALQC during the 68th Annual National Mine Safety and Environment Conference.

Receiving the award on behalf of the company is APO Cement Plant Director Gery Rota and ALQC representative Atty. Christer Gaudiano. 

“We are very pleased to be receiving this prestigious award on behalf of ALQC, and we congratulate the men and women of ALQC who have worked zealously to achieve satisfactory indicators across environmental, health and safety management as well as social development programs,” says Atty. Gaudiano. 

Over the years, ALQC has been a recipient of many awards and recognition from the Department of Natural Resources (DENR) and Philippine Mine Safety and Environment Association (PMSEA). These include the Gawad Tugas Award given by DENR Region 7 (2015, 2016 and 2018), and the following from PMSEA: PMIEA Platinum Award (2017), Zero Lost Time Incident Award (2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2014), Safest Mining Operations Award (2013), Safest Quarry Operations Award (2011-2013) and Best Mining Forest Award in 2010.