Travel ban in 10 countries extended 'til Aug. 15 amid Delta variant threat | Global News

Travel ban in 10 countries extended ’til Aug. 15 amid Delta variant threat

By: - Reporter / @DYGalvezINQ
/ 11:21 AM July 30, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Travel restrictions on inbound travelers from 10 countries, including India have been extended until Aug. 15 amid the threat of the feared COVID-19 Delta variant, Malacañang said Friday.

The travel ban, which also covers India, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Thailand, was supposed to lapse on July 31.


Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said the government’s pandemic task force and President Rodrigo Duterte approved the recommendation to extend travel restrictions.

The government earlier imposed these restrictions to prevent the entry of the highly contagious variant first detected in India.

So far, the Philippines has detected a total of 216 Delta variant cases. The Department of Health (DOH) has confirmed local transmission of the variant in the country.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: coronavirus Philippines, delta variant, IATF, travel restrictions

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.