Palace congratulates Filipina winner of Asean Prize 2018

/ 11:20 PM November 13, 2018
Erlinda Uy Coe

Erlinda Uy Koe, A Filipina advocate for persons with autism, wins the inaugural Association of Southeast Nations Prize, besting 49 other nominees. (Photo by NESTOR CORRALES / INQUIRER.net)

Malacañang on Tuesday congratulated a Filipina autism advocate for bagging the inaugural Asean Prize 2018.

“The Palace wishes to congratulate Ms. Erlinda Uy Koe of the ASEAN Society Philippines and the ASEAN Autism Network (AAN) for winning the ASEAN Prize 2018 and bringing tremendous pride and great honor to the country,” presidential spokesperson Salvador Panelo said in statement.


Koe was conferred with the premier award during the opening ceremony of the 33rd ASEAN Summit and Related Summits in Singapore on Tuesday, besting 49 other nominees.

READ: Filipina autism advocate bags first Asean prize

Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong presented the award to Koe, which was witnessed by President Rodrigo Duterte and other leaders in the region.


Koe received a trophy and a cash prize of $20,000.

Panelo said Koe’s contributions in improving the lives of persons with autism “symbolize the spirit of ASEAN as an inclusive, resilient, people-oriented and people-centered community.”

“We cannot be more proud of Ms. Koe and may her exemplary works inspire greater righteousness and dignity in all of us,” Panelo said. /atm

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Asean Prize 2018, Erlinda Uy Koe, Malacañang Palace, Salvador Panelo
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.